Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Academic Search Premier – Full-text and peer-reviewed academic journals and magazines on all major areas of academic research.
Auto Repair Source – provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Points of View – Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue—including information on key topics of interest to Canadian researchers—this database provides rich content that can help students realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
Canadian Reference Centre – Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
EBSCO Host Periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Home Improvements Reference Center – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines. Video Tutorial (5 min)
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
eLibraries Manitoba – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
MasterFile Premiere – General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
Middle Search Plus – contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History and reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text magazines include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
NoveList Plus – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
Primary Search – Provides students with encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. In addition, the database includes full-text popular magazines including those from Cricket Media, such as Ladybug and Spider. Other magazines include Highlights, Junior Scholastic and dozens more.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.